Deduktionstreffen 2018

September 21, 2018, University of Luxemburg


The annual meeting Deduktionstreffen is the prime activity of the Interest Group for Deduction Systems (FGDedSys) of the German Informatics Society. It is a meeting with a familiar, friendly atmosphere, where everyone interested in deduction can report on their work in an informal setting.

A special focus of the Deduktionstreffen is on young researchers and students, who are particularly encouraged to present their ongoing research projects to a wider audience. Another goal of the meeting is to stimulate networking effects and to foster collaborative research projects.


We welcome contributions on all theoretical, experimental and application aspects of deduction. Accepted abstracts are first presented in a five minute teaser talk and then discussed next to a poster (maximal size: A0 portrait).

The Deduktionstreffen will also host the annual general meeting of the members of FGDedSys.

Deduktionstreffen 2018 is associated with the Luxembourg Logic for AI Summit (LuxLogAI), which brings together several renowned conferences and events, including RuleML+RR 2018, DecisionCAMP 2018, the Reasoning Web Summer School (RW 2018), the Global Conference on Artificial Intelligence (GCAI 2018) and the MIREL 2018 workshop.


Submission is open to everybody interested in deduction systems. Particularly encouraged are submissions that address one or several topics of the overall focus theme of the LuxLogAI Summit: Methods and Tools for Responsible AI.

Please submit a one-page abstract of your contribution on easychair:

Early bird submission: July 5 (Notification: July 15)
Standard submission: August 5 (Notification: August 15)

Early bird submission is meant to grant planning reliability to interested students and researchers, e.g. if they would like to apply for travel grants.

In particular, LuxLogAI will award a limited number of travel grants to master/PhD students, see for details.

Invited Speakers

Program Committee (provisional)

  • Serge Autexier
  • Bernhard Beckert
  • Christoph Benzmüller
  • Jasmin Blanchette
  • Jürgen Giesl
  • Matthias Horbach (co-chair)
  • Dieter Hutter
  • Manfred Kerber
  • Christoph Kreitz
  • Jens Otten
  • Florian Rabe
  • Stephan Schulz
  • Viorica Sofronie-Stokkermans
  • Volker Sorge
  • Alexander Steen (co-chair)
  • Uwe Waldmann (co-chair)
  • Christoph Weidenbach